Second DUI or More

Second Time DUI or More

Fort Lauderdale DUI Defense Lawyer

Have you been arrested for drunk driving for the second or third time?  Ft. Lauderdale DUI defense attorney Antonio D. Quinn, Esq. of  Quinn Law, P.A. represents driver's who are being charged with their first, second DUI or if it is their third or even fourth  arrest for drunk driving .  Each time a person is convicted of DUI the potential penalties increase.  A fourth DUI conviction or a third within 5 years is classified as a third degree felony where a person faces up to 5 years in state prison.  It becomes increasingly difficult to obtain leniency from the judge and prosecutors with each drunk driving arrest.  Selecting a DUI defense attorney with the knowledge and experience needed to handle complex DUI matters is crucial to minimizing the impact of multiple DUI arrests.  A significant portion of the cases Ft. Lauderdale DUI attorney Antonio Quinn handles entail representing those accused of DUI in Broward and Palm Beach counties.

            Call Now (954) 463-0440

          Toll Free (844) DUI-LAW4

Penalties for DUI in Florida

First DUI Conviction

  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to nine months in jail if there is a minor in the vehicle
  • Probation for up to one year
  • $500-$1000 in fines
  • 50 hours of community service
  • 12 hours of DUI school
  • Six month driver's license suspension
  • Twelve months driver's license suspension if a person refuses a breath or urine test
  • Installation of an ignition interlock device for up to six months if BAC is .15 or higher

Second DUI conviction

  • Up to nine months in jail
  • Mandatory 10 days in jail for a second DUI within 5 years
  • Up to 12 months in jail if BAL is .15 or higher and a minor is present in the vehicle
  • $1000-$2000 in fines
  • $2000-$4000 in fines if there is a minor present in the vehicle and BAL is .15 or higher
  • Level II DUI school
  • Driver's license suspension for a minimum of 5 years
  • Mandatory ignition interlock for one year or for two years if BAC is greater than .20

Third DUI Conviction

  • Elevated to a third degree felony if all three DUI cases are within 10 years
  • Up to 5 years in prison
  • Up to $5000 in fines
  • Permanent driver's license revocation

Juveniles and drivers under 21

The Florida Department of motor vehicles has a zero tolerance policy for DUI for any driver under the age of 21.  Any driver found to have a BAL of .02 or higher will have their driver's license suspended for six months.  This means that you can be convicted of DUI for having even one drink if you are under 21. 


Broward County DUI defense attorney

As described above, being convicted for DUI in Florida can have sever consequences.  If you have been arrested for a DUI, your best chance avoid a conviction is to retain an aggressive and experienced DUI defense attorney to defend you.  To schedule a free case evaluation of your DUI case, contact Ft. Lauderdale DUI attorney Antonio D. Quinn, Esq. at (954) 463-0440.

Share by: