DUI Enhancement

DUI Enhancement in Florida

Ft. Lauderdale DUI Defense Attorney

If you have been arrested for drunk driving in South Florida, there are some things that you need to be aware of.   Most DUI cases in Florida are charged as misdemeanors, however the severity of the possible sentence can vary depending upon a number of factors.  In order for a DUI to be enhanced or aggravated, the prosecution is required to present proof beyond a reasonable doubt that a driver is guilty of DUI and in addition, they must show that certain aggravating factors were present.  In addition to facing increased fines and longer terms of probation and license suspension, being convicted of an enhanced DUI requires the installation of an ignition interlock device in the driver's vehicle.  Because the stakes are higher in an enhanced or aggravated DUI, it is crucial to retain the services of an experienced and knowledgeable DUI defense attorney.  Broward County DUI defense lawyer Antonio D. Quinn, Esq. has handled all types of enhanced DUI cases.  If you have been arrested for drunk driving  contact Quinn Law, P.A. today for a case evaluation.

           Call Now (954) 463-0440

        Toll Free (844) DUI-LAW4

Fort Lauderdale DUI Defense Lawyer

Some factors which can enhance the sentence of a DUI

Prior Convictions:  The more times that a driver has been convicted of DUI, the more serious will be the consequences that they will be facing.  A third DUI conviction occurring within 10 years or a fourth regardless of when it occurs are third degree felonies which subject a person to the possibility of up to 5 years in state prison.

BAL:  For a first time conviction, if a driver has a blood alcohol level of .15 or greater, the mandatory minimum fines are increased from $500 to $1000 and the maximum fines are increased from $1000 to $2000.  Possible jail terms are increased as well to a maximum of 9 months in jail compared to a maximum of six months for a standard first time DUI conviction.

Having a minor present in the vehicle:  If at the time that the offense is alleged to have taken place, a driver has an occupant of the vehicle who is under 18 years of age with them, then the possible minimum and maximum sentences are increased in the same manner as above.

Damage or non-serious injury:  If an impaired driver is involved in an accident resulting in property damage or non-serious injury to another person, then they will face increased penalties as well.

DUI resulting in serious bodily injury:  A person charged with a DUI resulting in serious bodily injury will be charged with a third degree felony and face a maximum of 5 years in state prison.  "Serious bodily injury" is defined as "a physical condition that creates a substantial risk of death, serious personal disfigurement, or protracted loss or impairment of the function of any bodily member or organ".  (Fla. Stat. 316.1933)

Aggressive DUI Defense Lawyer for Broward and Palm Beach

If you are being charged with an enhanced DUI, Felony DUI or DUI Manslaughter, you must take a proactive approach to your criminal defense.  Contact Quinn Law, P.A. today to set up an evaluation of your DUI case.





Share by: